top of page

 5th May 2018

St John the Baptist Church 

White Noise

White Noise

White Noise is an English experimental electronic music band formed in London in 1968 by American-born David Vorhaus, a classical bass player with a background in physics and electronic engineering. He was initially joined by BBC Radiophonic Workshop composers Delia Derbyshire and Brian Hodgson.

In June 1969 White Noise released the groundbreaking album An Electric Storm on Island Records. The album was created using a variety of tape manipulation techniques, and used the first British synthesizer, the EMS Synthi VCS3.

Although not initially commercially successful for Island, it has over the years proved to be a cult classic, going on to sell hundreds of thousands of copies worldwide, namechecked by contemporary artists like The Orb and Julian Cope, influencing contemporary acts such as BroadcastAdd N to (X), and Secret Chiefs 3.

Mike Painter joins Vorhaus in the current 2018 line-up



Eşya is a new solo project from Ayşe Hassan. An unsettling, beat driven, and wonky exploration of alternate personas. Transgressing comfort zones by experimenting with the complex and contradictory ideas that can exist within one person. 

Exploring the myriad manifestations of selfhood through a whirlwind of FM and analog synths, drum machines and for the first time on record, her vocals. 

Ian Helliwell

Ian Helliwell 

Starting in the early 1990s, Ian has completed over 100 short experimental films exploring various themes, including sound visualisation, hand painting, abstraction, animation, video feedback, found footage and collage. Particularly concerned with fusing his own specially composed electronic music with video and film, he has created one of the largest bodies of experimental shorts in the world to feature electronic music soundtracks by one artist.


His film Holes, has been in production for over 25 years, and is intended as a continuing lifetime project, being updated whenever new footage is found

bottom of page